A BEAUTIFUL DAY!!

My first time in OT!!

24/02/2020

So today is the day went I went to the OT (operation theatre) for the first time after joining MBBS. I am posted in the ENT (otorhinolaryngeology) department of Lok Nayak hospital, New Delhi. 

I was very excited in the morning and ran at 9 am to find the OT block in the hospital. At first, I climbed u 3 floors when I realised entered the wrong block, then I asked a nurse the directions to my destination and rushed very very hurriedly. Till the time I reached the department, I was panting heavily. But the excitement was unreal. 

I was told to change by the seniors. I quickly went to the changing room and took out my fresh Navy Blue scrubs, which I bought the previous day and was waiting to wear them ever since. Once changed, I took this picture that you’re seeing. We were also told to wear shoes covers, head caps and surgical masks. Now it was finally time to get inside the OT.

Just as I entered the OT, I saw doctors, nurses and a patient who was given anaesthesia for the surgery to be performed. I went to a resident and said “Ma’am, I’m a second year UG student, here for my posting. She started with telling me that the case was JNA (Juvinile nasopharyngeal angiofibroma). In simple words, it was a benign but very extensive tumour that had to excised. She briefed me about the whole condition- symptoms, diagnosis,etc. that was relevant at my level. I saw the procedure being performed through a screen that displayed what the endoscope’s camera saw and it was unbelievable to be standing there and seeing the procedure. 

The closest I had seen a surgery was when I watched “The Good Doctor” on Netflix. But this time, I was standing in that operation theatre seeing the procedure. It was overwhelming at a few moments, but I felt so happy and proud to be one of the people in that theatre. It was huge! 

I had never thought that I’d be doing seeing a surgery and that too this soon. I’m so grateful for having the opportunity to learn this way, to be enjoying this way of learning so much. I’m still smiling when I type this but yes, dream big, expect the unexpected and most importantly value what you’re given. There were times when I had second thoughts about my decision of entering medicine, but today was that one day that made me so grateful and so proud of being a medico, it also mae me realise that how important it is for a doctor to stay calm all the time, even in the most difficult of situations. Performing a surgery on a patient is a task of utmost responsibility and that one day maybe I have this responsibility on my shoulders. But this is how we learn!

Very very grateful for the day! Thank you to the universe for this day.